Supporting students to own their future

The Washington College Access Network vision

By 2020, 70% of all jobs in Washington state will require a postsecondary credential.

The Washington College Access Network believes that all students can pursue a postsecondary education. We work to ensure every student has support from a trusted adult, the information they need to be successful, and access to all financial aid opportunities available to them. We are especially focused on the College Bound Scholarship (CBS) program and the inspiration and incentive CBS can provide to close the achievement gap for students experiencing poverty.

College is postsecondary education
WCAN uses the term "college" to refer to the attainment of valuable postsecondary credentials beyond high school, including professional/technical certificates and academic degrees.

Our mission

Increase postsecondary enrollment for all Washington State students particularly among students experiencing poverty, first-generation college-going students, and students of color.

WCAN: Materials for your students

Materials for your students

College Knowledge Book & Handouts
College Map
College Bound Repledge

WCAN: Training & Workshops for Student Advocates

Trainings & Workshops for Student Advocates

College Bound Workshops & Strategies
Regional Spring Workshops
Online Career & College Readiness Curriculum

WCAN: Student Engagement Initatives

Student Engagement Initatives

College Bound Middle School Sign Ups
College Signing Celebrations
FAFSA/WASFA Completion

Find your regional officer

WCAN: Regional Map
  • Southeast:

    Adams, Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, South Grant, and Walla Walla
    Amandalyn Rubio, 509-398-7093
    arubio@wcan.org

  • Northeast:

    Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman
    Schynequa Hocking, 509-919-2726
    shocking@wcan.org

  • Northwest:

    Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom
    Griselda Guevara-Cruz, 509-591-2470
    gcruz@wcan.org

  • South Puget Sound:

    Serving Lewis, Pierce and Thurston counties
    Mike Christensen, 360-827-3348
    mchristensen@wcan.org

  • Southwest:

    Serving Clark, Cowlitz, Pacific, Skamania and Wahkiakum
    Kurt Reeser, 360-301-2277
    kreeser@wcan.org

  • Peninsula:

    Mason, Grays Harbor, Kitsap, Clallam, Jefferson
    Anna Fulford, 360-337-9635
    afulford@wcan.org

  • King County and Tacoma:

    Josh Bellinger, 206-397-7220
    jbellinger@wcan.org

  • North Central:

    Chelan, Douglas, North Grant, Lincoln and Okanogan
    Sue Johnson, 509-449-0138
    sjohnson@wcan.org

  • South Central:

    Kittitas, Klickitat, and Yakima
    Kelsey McLeod, 509-571-6747
    kmcleod@wcan.org

Stay informed

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up-to-date on WCAN initiatives, view regional highlights, and gather resources and best practices that impact college access and success.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.